The Last Stacker: Buckwheat Pancakes with Banana, Peanut Butter and Coconut

IMG_7900 This is my last pancake stack for a while. My inner chef, who apparently is also a small child, has been having way too much fun cooking up treats lately, and after all this tasty sweet, albeit low-fructose, food I think my brain’s dopamine receptors may be in need of some recalibration. I can feel myself starting to crave sweet foods more readily because of it, and consequently have been feeling hungrier than usual, which is an especially bad thing when I am standing next to the gargantuan fundraising chocolate basket at work mid-afternoon. Sarah Wilson and David Gillespie are both right – a diet high in sugar (that is, exceeding the WHO recommended 5-9 teaspoons daily) really does mess around with your appetite. Normally I don’t condone the use of the word ‘detox’ when it refers to diet, given that in the past it has often been associated with doing something ridiculous like drinking nothing but juices and in the process probably putting yourself at risk of an electrolyte imbalance, or at least the runs, but considering that sugar has been scientifically proven to be just as addictive as cocaine, I feel that in this case it is appropriate to say I will be detoxing from sweetness.

What this means for you is that you will be seeing a lot more savoury Paleo/I Quit Sugar-inspired food posts from me over the next few weeks. I’m looking forward to the challenge of experimenting with different kinds of ingredients and cooking methods to see what I can come up with.

I would also like to take this opportunity to quickly point out that while I for the most part strongly support the nutritional philosophy of the Paleo diet, I do not agree with its stance of steering clear of dairy. Dairy products, unless of course you suffer from lactose intolerance, are a great source of many important vitamins and minerals and I believe that cutting them out of your diet is just making things difficult (and often more expensive) for yourself if balanced nutrition is your aim. If you are a woman especially, it is vitally important to get adequate amounts of calcium (the recommended intake is 1300 mg a day) and dairy protein to assist in building and maintaining healthy bones throughout your life. This is particularly true of women who are trying to lose weight. While taking a supplement as a safeguard is not a bad idea, it’s better to aim to get the bulk of your calcium and vitamin D from food due to better absorption. Besides, why would anyone want to deprive themselves of cheese?!

Anyway, back to the subject of the pancakes, if unlike me feel your hunger pangs/sugar cravings are under control and you want a breakfast that will knock your uggs off, I strongly suggest that you give these babies a go.

For the pancakes:

I made the pancakes using the ‘Buckwheat Galettes’ recipe from Sarah Wilson’s first ‘I Quit Sugar’ book.  It’s my go-to pancake recipe – it makes really quick, cheap, nutritious and easy pancakes that always turn out perfectly. Another really good thing about them is that they’re well suited to making either sweet or savoury meals. I strongly suggest purchasing Sarah Wilson’s books if you haven’t already – they’re a key investment if you’re on the path to quitting sugar.

For the filling:

Once you have cooked three pancakes using a third of the batter, stack with layers of mashed banana and cinnamon (classic flavour combo) and Greek yoghurt. I recommend Jalna Natural Greek yoghurt because its higher fat content means that it is much more satiating, and it has only 4.8 grams of sugar per serve, which is likely to come mainly from lactose. Its lack of sweetness means that you can cook with it a lot at dinnertime too.

To top the pancakes off drizzle with Mayver’s Peanut and Coconut spread (seriously the most lush spread, I cannot rave enough about it) and sprinkle with shredded coconut and cacao nibs to garnish.

A pretty fab way to start your day.

Peace out, gorgeous-heads,

Emily Xxx

Leave a Reply

